Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Najera

    July 8, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 81 °F

    Our mantra, from the start of our adventure, was to have our own Camino- to do it in our way. Today, Maria and Cyndee decided to take a break and rest their weary feet. They took a bus to Najera. Marjory and I started out at 6am, and walked for 7 hours, covering 30 kilometers. It was even terrain, on a dirt road, and we had a cool breeze for the entire trip. We saw a shepherd, driving a herd of sheep on the trail we were hiking. His boarder collie kept them all in line! We have been seeing lots of beautiful wild flowers, including the red poppy in the photo below. We also saw this beehive structure- not sure what it was, but I'll let you know when I figure it out.🤔If you look closely at the photo of Marjory and me, you can see a huge black bull on the hill behind us. This week, in Spain, is the celebration of Saint Fermin and the running of the bulls. We got out of Pamplona before the madness began! Finally, I snapped a photo of this street art before we left Logrono. She just seemed to call out to me😁. Love to you all.Read more