Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Berciamos

    July 17, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 100 °F

    Again, we beat the heat, arriving in Bercianos before 12. It was a comfortable walk, but the last 2k seem to take forever. We continue to see many little houses dug into mountain sides. The sign explains how they are used. I guess I can stop looking for Hobbits, along the way. 😁 My picture is at the end of our walk, where I took a nap on the cement, until the albergue opened an hour and a half later. We are staying at a Parochial albergue, run by volunteers, that do not charge, but accept donations. They do not have wifi, so we are sitting in a bar, using their wifi, l enjoying a beer, and watching the Tour de France on TV and locals playing lively games of dominos. Lots of slamming on the tables, and observers yelling. I guess I've been playing dominos the wrong way all these years!😂I've been able to keep in touch with Cyndee- she has been doing some site seeing, plans to continue to bus ahead to Sarria, then walk 10k a day until she reaches Santiago. So glad she is doing the Camino her way.❤️Read more