Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Internal medicine day 1

    March 20, 2018 on the Philippines ⋅ ⛅ 7 °C

    Up at 6.20am for breakfast - hash browns and scrambled egg today.
    Got my scrubs and stethoscope on, packed all my gloves and masks and headed to the hospital via a jeepney (which I still don’t understand).
    Was shown to the internal medicine office where I observed handover. This was mainly done in English although I found a lot of it difficult to follow.
    It seems as though the system is that residents run the wards and text their seniors to keep them up to date. I have only spotted 1 consultant so far!
    I introduced myself to the consultant in Hiligaynon which he seemed very impressed with!
    After the handover I headed to the emergency room but was told there were no “toxic” patients and that I should go to one of the medical wards.
    I headed to MM1 which is a male medical ward. Here seemingly all medical specialties are covered under 1 roof. I found myself a resident to tag along with - Kevin, who was nice but not particularly talkative. Tried to ask questions where possible. Saw a few interesting cases. Also noticed a few things which stood out as different from how things are in the UK. For example, people intubated with no sedation, being bag valve ventilated by their relative (folks as they’re called here). No curtains to be seen for privacy. No hand washing or PPI. Every single patient on some description of drip regardless of why they were in. Also the ward was about 1008734 degrees and full of fans to waft all of the germs around!
    Headed back to the internal medicine office and found free lunch!
    Went back to the house and decided to go to a near by pool for a dip and a cocktail. 15 minute walk in the sweltering heat (apparently it’s 32 degrees, feels much hotter!).
    The pool was gorgeous, we had the place almost to ourselves with about 8 work the world girls there. Had a strawberry daiquiri and some calamari, played in the waterfall and generally had a nice time. On the walk back I got a matcha ice latte.
    We then had another language lesson which was much too fast and a bit pointless, but we did revise jeepney language so that we can all navigate by ourselves now (hmm).
    Had some dinner and then decided it was about time I got back into some form of workout routine. Made up a WOD, found a space in the house to do it in, got some speakers and a timer and even managed to rope Emma into doing it with me! It was very warm and sweaty but fun non the less.
    Sat and a tried to do a bit of research on places we wanted to visit before heading to bed.
    Read more