Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    ... in Bareyo

    May 31, 2017 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    So yesterday after walking around town I got myself a haircut and paid the princely sum of 15€. A little hip and spiky for this old lady but it was fun.

    Today's walk was one I remembered well from last time. First, a 6 km walk along the beach to the end of the boardwalk. At about 9 am, the ferry starts up, taking pilgrims across the inlet and saving us a 12 km walk around.

    Then comes a walk through the town on the other side, where I had a good cup of coffee and some tortilla. Spanish coffee just isn't as good as it used to be, but sitting outside in the morning sun in a cafe right near the water is pretty special no matter how good the hot beverage.

    There was a short steep walk up to the headlands, followed by a short steep descent to the beach. I like the ascents and struggle with the descents. Thank goodness for my hiking poles.

    Then after Noja, the Camino turns inland and after about 8 km through green hills spotted with little hamlets, I came to the albergue where Helena is helping out for a week. Though she agreed with several people who think that the bites are fleas and not bed bugs, she insisted on washing and drying all my clothes, letting the pack sit in a big black garbage bag in the sun all day, and a few other camino tricks. Hopefully, that's the end of that.

    Tomorrow is another short day to Santander, a pretty city, and I may or may not splurge on another 30€ pension. TBD. I do remember that the albergue in Santander is not one of the best on the camino, but it is run by a very nice association of volunteers.
    Read more