Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Afternoon in Santander

    June 1, 2017 ⋅ ⛅ 19 °C

    Getting ready for bed so that I'll be up and raring to go early tomorrow. But my afternoon had some great discoveries.

    First I took the requisite trip to the cathedral for my pilgrim stamp. Then I came across a little door in a big plaza that announced "medieval wall of Santander." I went in and down a flight and learned there would be a tour in about 15 minutes. Fascinating. Turns out all of old Santander burned to the ground in the early 1940s. A ship carrying war materiel exploded in the harbor and the whole city burned. Then about 12 years ago when they were doing some renovations on their replacement plaza, they found the 12-14C walls. Really nicely displayed.

    Then a few minutes away I saw a sign for the Prehistory Museum of Cantabria. With some time on my hands and and 2€ in my pocket, I thought it was a good way to spend an hour. Well worth a visit, with displays from the oldest human settlements in Cantabria (my mind can't keep track of how many tens of thousands of years ago that was) all the way up to visigothic. Not at all a bad way to spend some time in Santander. Off tomorrow to a town called Boo. :-)
    Read more