Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 49

    In Santiago

    July 4, 2017 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 18 °C

    Today we got a cab into Santiago from Muxia because all the buses are on strike. Not bad, 15€ each. That meant a 45 minute drive in a car instead of a slow boat 3 hour bus ride.

    So I had almost the whole day in Santiago to do my shopping. Spoiler alert -- olive oil and kids t-shirts were my highest priority. I had to get the oil in several batches, because it's heavy and it was hot. It was 90 degrees in Santiago today, which is almost unheard of.

    In the late afternoon, my two Aussie friends (both named Ann) got to meet each other in one of my favorite places in Santiago, the gardens of the Costa Vella hotel. (Dana, that's our place!). From there we moved to another favorite place, the Bodeguilla San Roque, for a tapas dinner. It was really a nice evening.

    So, one more day in Santiago and then my 22 hours traveling back to Champaign.
    Read more