Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Getting out of town

    February 10, 2018 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ -4 °C

    Thanks to Tina and John for giving me a heads up about a huge storm coming through Chicago this weekend. I was able to change our tickets to re-route us through Dallas, and so far so good.

    We thought we were going to have a 6 hour layover in Dallas, but when we got to the airport in Champaign this morning, it started to spit ice from the sky. After 3 hours, two de-icings, and multiple heavy machinery trips over the runways to get the ice off, we finally took off!

    With our layover in Dallas cut in half, I still had enough time to go to the Hyatt Hotel Gym, where for a mere $30, exercise addicts can get their fix. I am now back in the airport where Joe patiently babysat my carryon at the Admirals Club, with just enough time for a snack and glass of wine before we head to the gate. Our last meal on American going overseas was completely inedible, we'll see what we get tonight.

    Hard to believe that tomorrow, we will be in Portugal, heading to the Algarve for a week on the coast before my class begins. It's been five or six years since we've been to the Algarve, and having 60 degree sunny days will be a nice respite!

    Ps. On the plane to Madrid and it looks like I have a row of three seats all to myself. 👋👋👋👋👋
    Read more