Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    The home stretch

    July 3, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    Today’s 29 kms sort of sailed by. I passed two old stone boxes of alms for the souls in purgatory, but no donations have been dropped in the rusty box for ages.

    It was a pretty, rural walk except for the 6 interminable kms right below a huge line of windmills. Thankfully they weren’t operating, because otherwise you are walking to the rhythm of an annoying flap, flap, flap.

    I had a climb up to the “spiritual center” of Galicia, with its chapel, stations of the cross, and views to all four provinces of Galicia. Unfortunately for me, the cloud cover obscured some of the view, but it had made for much cooler walking on those 1200 feet of ascent.

    I’ve finally met some people, and I am also finding that there will be a lot of people I know in Santiago. It will be nice to have Sunday there to hang out and do one or two of the many tourist things I’ve done so often but always enjoy.
    Read more