Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Laguna Gloria!

    April 16, 2021 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    I won’t say the weather has been great, but we have not yet been rained on. Looking at my phone, I decided that the morning looked like the best chance of dry weather, so we went to Laguna Gloria, a sculpture garden/mansion that has now been absorbed by Austin’s museum of contemporary art. One big advantage is that there is now a café with good sandwiches! It is a very beautiful place.

    Our afternoon stop was the Texas Historical Museum, which I love. Lot of good but unbiased information about Texas as a part of Mexico, as a Republic, and then as part of the US. Can’t say I would object to going back to one of its two earlier statuses.

    Before dinner, we went to Sixth Street and stopped in the Historic Driskill Hotel. The very polite valets asked us if they could help and I explained that Joe’s grandmother had a florist shop in the hotel. They showed us the place where it used to be and let u roam around the spectacular lobby a bit. The Driskill is on 6th St., which is way too hip for me, but I’m glad we saw the hotel.
    Read more