Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Taxi trick

    September 11, 2021 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Once I was showered and had my clothes hanging to dry, I decided I had plenty of time to hop into a cab and go back to visit the inside of the church. Though it was hard to find a free taxi on a Saturday afternoon in a small town, after several phone calls and the help of a hotel clerk (not my hotel) a driver appeared.

    It was just as beautiful as I remembered, and the señora with the keys was the same as the last two times I’ve stopped to visit (One other time it was closed for reforms). The Señora always used to just leave her phone number on the door, and you could call her whenever you got there. If it was convenient for her (she lives about 200 m away) she would come open it. I don’t know if this is a Covid change or what, but the church is now on a regular schedule.

    Anything that is still standing from the ninth century Is bound to be impressive, and this little tiny church meets that standard. It used to be adjacent to a monastery and a palace for the Asturian king, but both of those buildings disappeared. Apparently all of the stones can be found in the walls of many houses throughout the area. Thankfully they left the church in tact.

    I’m not very good with the architectural terms, so the pictures will have to suffice. Awesome .
    Read more