Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Back to Santiago

    October 9, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    It seems that even if I’m not getting up to walk, I am incapable of sleeping in. The earliest bus back to Santiago on Sunday isn’t till 9:45, so I had plenty of time to take one last walk around the port and the old town.

    The bus, surprise surprise, went directly to Santiago. What a welcome development! No more 2 1/2 hours of meandering all along the coast.

    After all these years of coming to Santiago, I decided today was the day to visit the Museo do Pobo Galego, located inside an 18th century monastery. Really well worth a long visit. I loved seeing all the exhibits about the traditional professions. A completely in tact bagpipe-maker’s shop, a forge, a basket maker’s shop, etc. Lots about fishing, weaving, lace-making. And the spiral staircase that is actually three separate staircases twirling around each other was awesome.

    Since it was getting close to meal time, I went to two of my old favorites that were nearby. The Bodeguilla de San Roque and O Dezaseis. Both closed!!! Thankfully, Casa Felisa, with its pretty outside garden eating area, is still going strong.

    I had a 5 pm reservation to do the Cathedral roof tour, which seemed like a good finale to the whole trip. It was a bit precarious up there, but I didn’t fall off. In the museum, don’t miss the absolutely beautiful stone choir stalls that have been put back together after they were ripped out in the early 17th century.

    Back in my room for a zoom meeting of my homeowners’ association board to discuss an upcoming assessment for updates to the fire suppression system. Most people probably think being on an HOA board is something to be avoided, but I love it!
    Read more