Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    First day to Relleu. 20 km, 500 m up

    May 11, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    This four day alternative of the Lana goes through a much less industrialized and less developed part of the region. Our first day, I met Alun at 7 o’clock in the train station as we were going to Villajoyosa. The train is very efficient and goes right along the coast, which has a lot of overbuilding in my opinion.

    From Villajoyosa, after a café con leche, started walking. It was a late start, probably close to 9 AM, but since we had a short day, it was OK. We were lucky that it was cloudy, because there would not have been any shade. At about the halfway point, in Orxeta, we had a cold drink, (my first Fanta de Limón), and from there the trail got interesting. Mostly off-road, lots of great views of punishing looking rocky hills/ mountains. By about one we were in our destination, Relleu.

    Our somewhat pricey accommodation for today was Casa de los indianos, a heavily restored and very comfortable place from the 18th century. I had my first menú del dia in a down-home local place. Too much food, but I ate it all!

    After lunch, we walked up to the castle ruins. It’s a 12 century Moorish castle, pretty heavily destroyed. But the views, oh, the views. I’m back in my room now and will be asleep in less than an hour for sure. I am getting back in the Camino groove and had a great first day with no big muscle or foot problems, which is a huge stroke of good luck and fills me with gratitude.
    Read more