Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Campillo de Altobuey to Monteagudo de ln

    May 21, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Today, I was expecting a 34 km walk. 3 km more may not seem like a lot, but those last three I was really dragging. I had to stop about once an hour to stretch my back. I saw not one person on the entire walk, no one in the fields, no one in the one town I went through. It was a very solitary day. The high point was definitely the castle and Paracuellos. It is really gorgeous. I didn’t climb around it, mainly because I couldn’t find how to get up to it, but it was beautiful to look at from below.

    I think there has been more water here than in the places further south, where we’ve been, but even so, the crops look terrible. Mainly wheat and lentils. I believe they are all total failures. But the reason I think there has been more water here is because there are a few smattering of wildflowers, and at one point I even had to walk through a bit of mud.

    I am in the town of Monteagudo de las Salinas. Two days from Cuenca, where I will take a rest day. In the one restaurant in town, three Peregrinos converged. Me on the long off-road route from Campillo, Alun on the shorter road route, and Clare, who had come in from Valencia. For the next two days, there will be three of us, and then Alun is probably going to leave, while Clare and I continue on to Burgos.

    I think my days over 35 Km are done now.
    Read more