Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Christmas in Genova

    December 25, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    Merry Christmas! Joe still did not want to go down to the restaurant for breakfast, so I brought up another plate. I am getting very good at room service. I am thankful for all of the people who give up their Christmas Day to take care of me, and I surely don’t deserve it!

    Two jaunts and a visit to the fitness center, that’s how I fill up my time in between encouraging the patient to eat and accompanying him to the bathroom. Today was a grey day, drizzly at times. My first trip was down to the port and on to the Royal Palace. The port is huge, very busy, a weird mixture of gritty port scenes and attempts to spruce it up with a couple of new hotels and a huge aquarium. There was a lot of activity along the docks, mixtures of families and many I would describe as scruffy. The Royal Palace is nearby, and I know I’ve been to a lot, but hey it was free on Christmas! Hall of Mirrors, throne room, royal bedrooms, you’ve probably all seen lots of these.

    For the second trip, I walked to a funicular (Genova has many of these going up and down the hills surrounding the city). Went to the top for a good view, but the weather didn’t cooperate. Then halfway down, there is a small modern church with a very wonderful nativity scene. Lots of kids and families enjoying it.

    I cancelled both our Christmas Eve and Christmas Day dinners, sadly. The only good meal we’ve ordered so far here is one we never got to eat on the first night. I went back to pay for it yesterday, and they told me they hoped to see us again. Wishful thinking. Since then, it’s been takeout all the way. Nothing too great, but nothing inedible. I am not a foodie, so I am not complaining!

    Although Joe would have preferred to stay in bed, I pushed. Up for a shower, dressed in real clothes, out for a 6 block walk, then to the hotel restaurant for dinner. My first pesto genovese, and Joe had a very filling minestrone. I am glad that I pushed!

    Talking to the kids was great and left me smiling. Two more days in Genova, then home.
    Read more