Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    One step closer

    December 28, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    We made it to the Milan airport hotel. Our stereotypical big black Mercedes whizzed through the 215 kms in no time flat. By 4 pm we were checking in. I have said a lot of bad things about airport hotels in my life, but the glitzy charmlessness that greeted us on arrival was most welcome and even festive, I had to admit. The wheelchair service will come right into the hotel lobby tomorrow morning. That is a tremendous benefit. Our flight’s not till 10 so it should be pretty smooth sailing and stress-free.

    The suspense and anxiety I was feeling have dissipated somewhat now that today went so well.

    Joe is showered and asleep. I’m assuming he will sleep through the night now, but I’ll get him up for something to eat before I hit the hay.

    If my calculations are correct, 24 hours from now we should be making our descent into JFK. FINGERS CROSSED.
    Read more