Satellite
Mostra sulla mappa
  • Giorno 28

    Mosteiro de Carboeiro

    8 maggio, Spagna ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    Promptly at 4:30, José Manuel picked me up. A very knowledgeable and garrulous man, he was not content to take me only to the monastery, but also took me to a huge pazo (estate) and several scenic lookout points. But for me, the prize was the monastery.

    I had the church all to myself, and it was beyond what I had imagined. So many intersecting and overlapping arches, the high vaults— it gave almost a gothic-y feeling of soaring space (sorry, I really don’t know what I’m talking about, but that was the impression it gave me). No human figures on the capitals, but lots of very intricate plant designs. I was very happy that I had spent a lot of time outside yesterday, and today my focus was just on the beautiful interior.

    I learned that Enrique Iglesias made a music video in this church, and it scandalized the church authorities. I watched it, and I have to say I am shocked. Since the monastery is owned by the government, the church had no input, but there was a lot of controversy

    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=m3We7p78XTo

    I am ending the day sitting out on the terrace, eating a good salad, and feeling very grateful.
    Leggi altro