Uydu
Haritada göster
  • Gün 29

    Arrived in Santiago!

    9 Mayıs, Ispanya ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    I had a very short day today, less than 20 km, so I didn’t set an alarm and slept till after seven! By 8:00 I was on the way. Chatted with a lot of people, both people walking, and people out and about. As you get closer to a big city, you are bound to run into all sorts of people who are using the same space as you are to get to their own destinations. It’s sometimes a rude awakening to realize that not everyone who is out there is walking to Santiago! I had a particularly nice long chat with a woman who was planting potatoes. She had a daughter living in Illinois, but she was sure she would never go that far from home to see her. Luckily, her daughter comes back at least once a year.

    I was so happy to be able to finally visit the Colegiata de Sar, a beautiful 12C Romanesque church ear Santiago, which had buttresses added to keep it standing in the 14th or 15 century. The part of the cloister that remains is really beautiful, and I’m glad I got to see it. Free for pilgrims!

    This Camino crosses the bridge close to the spot where the terrible train accident happened. It’s been many years, but there are still memorials up there. So many lives at short.

    When I arrived in Santiago, it was pretty clear it was a holiday. Lots of music, a few parades, tons of people (but there’s nothing unusual about that). As I was watching a little band playing traditional Gallego instruments, I turned around to a tap on the back and saw it was Faith! We had a good long chat, and I’m thinking that on my return to Santiago, I may take her up on her offer of the Pilgrim House debrief. I’ve never done anything like that, but think it might be enlightening.

    Since I am leaving Santiago tomorrow to walk on to Finisterre and Muxia, today is more of a regular day than a celebratory ending. That will come in good time.
    Okumaya devam et