Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    罗得岛

    August 11, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    After being saved by icy Starbuck lemonade from a near heat stroke experience in a subway, packing up and filling the trunk with baggage, we were off to Rhode Island. That was where I visited the Newport Breakers. I predicted that someone was beheaded there and that the children were spoiled to the core because they lived in their own miniature houses and that it was exactly like the Versailles Palace that I visited in Paris, minus the gigantic garden. However, after careful research, I found out the inside actually looked modern and new! Well then, they definitely need to fix up the outside because people do judge the book by its cover.

    I also walked along the 3.5 mile long Cliff Walk, where I was drenched by an angry wave. It doesn’t matter though, because I loved the water and as sad as it seemed that was the first time I actually saw the sea in a while. My mom stayed in the car while my dad flashed pictures of me and my brother as we explored the little tidal pools while prudently picking our steps to dry land. “Look at all the life in these tiny pools that don’t even count as a fraction of the ocean, and imagine how much life is out there,” my brother said while pointing out toward the sea. I was wowed by the thought of that as I collected seashells and held a little hermit crab that was playing peek-a-boo in (and out of) its shell. I also noticed a few rusty champagne bottles that stood perfectly straight at the very edge of a few different, large rocks. I wondered if a pirate came upon the beach a lifetime ago and claimed it by settling some heavy bottles into the slate, seaweed strewn rocks。
    Read more