Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 74

    Nambucca Heads, NSW

    May 3, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    This town is built on a steep cliff edge on the coast, and to be fair, it probably won't be there in 100yrs.

    It's a lovely place to swim, kayak and snorkel, all of which we did. Well, Dick swam alongside me scaring all the fish away as I snorkelled. His legs look dead funny from underwater, when he swims! He was on his best behaviour in the kayak this time. I believe a lesson has been learned since Stanthorpe.

    There's a beautiful lagoon that's been created where the river meets the sea and a big sandbank right in the middle. Perfect to kayak out to and swim and snorkel from there. Also an excellent way to avoid the plentiful 'No Dogs Allowed' signs, which don't apply to the ocean. I saw lots of fish 🐟 - one with a long blue nose which apparently is a Garfish.

    We briefly visited the State Forest for some cycling one morning, but the tracks were almost vertical. Not for me. I have spent many years cultivating my arse to be this size.

    Was sunbathing one morning outside the van when a paraglider cruised by so close, he could have knocked me hat off. We liked that caravan park, only one neighbour in a cabin and the staff weren't constantly spying on the guests, as with so many other places. There are so many 'Karens' who work at caravan parks. They literally come marching out the office first thing in the morning, looking for a fight with patrons, over the silliest things. Calm down, love.

    I am also getting heartily tired of the additional Pet Contracts you are forced to sign at every caravan park in NSW. What is with all the rules?! I make sure I point out as I sign them that I haven't read a single word (as they're always rushing you out of the door) therefore making the contract null and void. The Karens on Reception always give you a blank, hostile stare as their indignant brains try to formulate a reply (at my back, sauntering out of the door).

    We moved onto Kempsey Showgrounds for a few days, but their site was ankle deep in mud, so after raiding Bunnings and the Camping Store in the town, we promptly abandoned it for South West Rocks, which is where you find us now. We've got a waterfront spot on the Macleay River. The town and beach is a 10 minute jaunt along a path, so we'll rest here for a few days.
    Read more