Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 273

    Canungra Showgrounds/Tamborine Mountain

    November 18, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Canungra Showgrouds, Tamborine Mountain, Hosanna Farm Stay & Mullumbimby Showgrounds:

    18th Nov - 30th Nov 2022

    I was sorry to leave my friends at Strathpine Showgrounds. Travelling solo can be lonely, if the next park is full of couples or families who aren't social. But there were some friendly German tourists at Canungra Showgrounds, which is situated at the base of Tamborine Mountain.

    They were keen to make Australian friends (or British ones) and practice their English. Felt obliged to correct some of their Australian-isms; "Yeah, nah" not being a thing, or "marone".

    The Germans had a crack at playing the piano, we had breakfast, they persuaded me to go to church to repent of my vast array of sins (the vicar was British) and then we explored the mountain. Lots of fudge and tourist shops up there. Beautiful views. Which I forgot to take a photo of. Sorry. The highlight here was the Glow Worm Tour in specially made caves but wasn't allowed to take photos as it upsets the worms.

    Mullumbimby Showgrounds were not planned. We had stopped at the planned Showgrounds in Murwillumbah, but after listening to the wannabe Drill Sergeant caretaker going on and on about how he 'runs a tight ship' whilst stroking himself - out came the hand and a "Let me just stop you there." He was dismissed with a "Don't let me keep you."

    I have no time for middle aged misogynists when they're not my employer. Oh, hang on. Didn't have time for them, either.

    Off we trundled to Hosanna Farm Stay, where we had the ridge of the mountain to ourselves, a swimming dam, with chicks and piglets to stroke.

    Mullumbimby Showgrounds were lush and situated under a mountain, but the sites were ridiculously small for a showground. They'd fenced off just an acre out of the available 25, for campers. Could only get my awning half out due to the proximity of my neighbours, who snored loudly each night. I played a recording for the caretaker, as I was packing up and he asked how my stay was.

    The local Vietnamese had the spiciest Pho soup I've ever tasted, through my tears of pain. Not how pho should be.

    This area is the poor cousin of Byron Bay. Which is full of 'individuals' wearing exactly the same uniform of dungarees and cowboy hats. Loudly declaring how original they are.

    No, love.
    *sigh
    Read more