Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 56

    Day 55 ~ 19,600 Miles, Sydney

    February 29, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 77 °F

    Day 55 ~ 19,600 Miles

    I carefully staked out my spot on the top deck at 10:30 this morning knowing full well that the Port Pilot was not scheduled to pull alongside until close to noon and that we wouldn’t be tied into our berth until 2PM but I did not want to miss one moment of arriving into Sydney Harbor.

    I was completely mesmerized by the beauty of this place. Sheer cliffs being pounded by the South Pacific’s powerful waves on the North Head and a low lying rocky outcrop dotted with light houses on the South Head with the city rising from the sea in the middle. Slowly and ever so carefully we followed the Pilot Boat passing crafts of every shape and size: sailboats, speed boats, catamarans, ferries, water taxis, yachts etc. Finally, we rounded the bend and the Opera House, Harbour Bridge and Sydney presented themselves. I was not disappointed.

    After clearing immigration we took an afternoon tour of the Opera House, Bondi Beach, Vaucluse, Rose Bay, and Paddington then ended the evening with a stroll around Woollhara, Harborside, and Cockle Bay before catching a shuttle back to our home away from home.

    Even now as I reflect on the day I’m drawn out to my balcony by the sounds and sights of fireworks along Oxford Street from the gay Mardi Gras celebration and numerous party boats cruising in the harbor waters.

    I’ll think about the CDC Travel warning for Italy later, now is to enjoy Sydney.
    Read more