Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Uncovering Ubud

    November 21, 2023 in Indonesia ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    After getting back in touch with Putu, I agreed a price to charter a ride for a private trip around central Bali. I didn't want to get sucked into too many of the tourist traps that Bali can offer like the sacred Monkey Forest so I opted to do a waterfall trek, a visit to a Hindu temple on a lakeshore, and then Tagalang, one of the popular rice fields.

    All the attractions were fascinating in their own ways but it really was a whistle stop tour as I wanted to make it to my hostel in Kintamani at the base of Mount Batur for sunset. I stumbled across the hostel the night before and it had two hot spring infinity pools with a stunning view out over the mountain ridge and lake below. The view really did not disappoint! I stayed in the pools staring up at the star studded sky and reading until around 10.30pm when I decided it was probably best to try get some shut eye before my 3.00am start for another sunrise tour.
    Read more