Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Queenstown

    February 24, 2018 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ -7 °C

    Slept in today to about 9ish then Chris decided to watch some more of the movie while Amanda napped. About 10:30 we ventured back into town where we went and saw a lady in the infomation center. We both purchased rafting for tomorrow and Amanda decided she wanted to bungy jump. There were available spots for the bungy today at 2:00pm so we booked in for time slot. While we waited we wslked around the town and looked in several stores, we got a sneeky McDonalds as well as venturing through a market where Chris bought a whale bone necklace. We then headed back to the car so Amanda could get changed. We then walked to the Skydiving place in town. We checked in and waited for a while then about 2:40 we jumped on the bus. The nerves were definitly pumping at this point and I think Amanda had been to the toilet 100 times. The ride in the bus there and back was interesting, we headed along the Highway and then got to a dirt road, we then reached the steepest dirt road on the edge of a cliff ever. I still cant believe we drive up it in a manual.

    When we got there we both got given harnesses and headed out to a landing. A guy ran through everything and we where chosen to go in the first group. We then headed into a cage and into the middle of the moutian. Here Amanda sat on the ledge at the back of the room and waited as one by one everyone jumped. Finally it was Amanda's turn, the guy strapped her leg pieces on and she made her way up to the chair where they attached the bungy.

    By this time I was so nervous my kegs where shaking so much!! Once he strapped my legs he told me to stand up and then he checked over everything. I then stood on the edge and he counted down 3 2 1. I was like no I cant do it but then jumped. It was the craziest feeling jumping into nothing 132 meters in the air. Once I had jumped I hit the bottom and bounched back up. After my second bounce up it felt as if I was just floating in the air, the best feeling. After my 3rd bounce I pulled the leg piece and got pulled back up, I couldnt get the smile off my face. Literally the best feeling!! I will definitly be doing it again.

    After the bungy we headed back to the bus which took about 45 minutes. We then headed back to the local pool for another swim and shower. Wd then headed in the direction of our free campsite from last night. Just past Closeburn but before our frer campsite last night was a DOC campsite which was paid to stay in. It wasnt a bad campsite we had a pretty good view. We watched the end of 14 Hours and then watched Texas Chainsaw - Evil Wears Many Faces.
    Read more