Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13–15

    Day 13 Santiago De Compostela

    November 10, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    Last day. I feel it in my entire body. Last night I stayed in a typical pub along the main road to Santiago. A bit run down place, no heating until a bit late in the evening. But they served food, I was craving a big chunk of meat. And boy, did they deliver. On the bright side, I shared my room only with one other pilgrim. He was old, walking Camino Norte with also very bad weather, but luckily did not snore. Or perhaps I was too tired to hear him. Strange thing that I noticed is about "hospitaleros" - the owners in Albergues. Only very few are friendly. Some look even bothered by us. Even though it's a low season and there is hardly anybody on Camino. The last stretch to Santiago was around 24km. Breeze compared to previous more than 30km per day. Typical November weather, fog, drizzle and 10C. I have a recipe for this weather - very fast walk without breaks. So I started with around 10min/km. After Pedrouzo more and more pilgrims showed up, and soon, there was always somebody in front of me. I passed by the airport, we walked just next to the runway. The most advanced transportation with the first one - walking. The rain was quite heavy and did not stop the entire day. I went for the certificate and to the accommodation. I spent the rest of the day getting lost in small streets around the cathedral, buying souvenirs, and attending pilgrims' mass in the evening.Read more