Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Last comments

    November 14, 2023 in Belgium ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    I am back in Brussels. The journey served me in many ways. I completed the trip, I needed this kind of small achievement. I had time to think. I had time not to think about anything at all. And I met many interesting people. So without mentioning names, let me mention some of them and their reasons to go on Camino.
    First, there was a Dutch couple. It looked like traveling was just their choice and way of life. They were on Camino for almost two months. I met them just outside Leon. It seems that they did not rush. Then, there were some people who were already retired. Yet, they were able to walk and some took this trip as sort of a transition from professional life to a retiree. I wish I could do it at the age of 65+. One person was even walking from somewhere in France, he was clocking more than 1000km. Then there were some group of youngsters from South Korea. They enjoyed more of a sporty part of the trip. Some of them were in the army. They walked quite fast. The girls in that group looked quite worn out. I also met a person from Mexico. He was a lawyer still recovering from a serious neurological disease. He could not walk very fast since his joints were not functioning properly. But he had a plan to walk also Finistere and place the ashes of his beloved dog in the sea. It was a transition for him from his old life to a new life, doing something else, leaving his disease behind him. Then there was a person whose boyfriend died in an avalanche. Another person from Taiwan resigned from work and was seeking answers to the changes in her life she wanted to make. There were also many people who just liked walking, they did not seek any deep spiritual angle of the journey. The last person I met was from Spain. He was also retired. He just liked walking so he walked. And there was me.
    Read more