Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Day 19 - Camino Suspended

    September 24, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 73 °F

    Well I am on my way back to the United States. The knee is just not getting much better. CJ arrived yesterday and we took a trial walk and before we got to 3 miles the pain was back and at about the same level, if not higher, than what it was when I stopped. CJ and I made the decision together and he will continue on to Santiago and I will live vicariously thru him!

    I am sure those that had read my daily notes understand that the Camino is just a wonderful experience. I say suspended as I will be back and I will finish what I started.

    I have met so many people that have done 2,3,6,7 Camino’s and I can understand why. This has a gravitational pull that will bring you back to it.

    I completed 213 miles which is about 45% of the pilgrimage. I know exactly where I ended and will come back and start at that very place!

    So many things of true value happened on this trip that I am a bit overwhelmed when I think about it. The freedom it provides, the people from all over the world that come here for much the same reasons, the time with CJ, the physical and mental challenges that it presents, the people in the towns and villages that support the pilgrims…The list just goes on and on.

    While I am sad that I could not complete the pilgrimage , I am so glad that CJ and I did what we did together and I will cherish that time for the rest of my life. Thank you CJ for being you!

    As I travel back to the States I think it will be tough to transition out of this “hiking with everything you need on your back” style I have fallen in love with. However I haven’t seen the love of my life in over 5 weeks and I can’t wait to see Susan tomorrow!!!

    I can’t disappoint those that have enjoyed the photos so my last post will be pictures from the Cathedral in Leon that CJ and I visited this morning after our last croissant breakfast together in Spain.

    Lastly, thanks again for all of the words of encouragement from all of you. It’s been great to share this extraordinary experience with all of you!

    Farewell Camino…. We will be seeing each other soon!
    Read more