Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Days 7 & 8: Goias Velho

    August 20, 2018 in Brazil ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    The quest for the 18th century gold rush continues as I proceed to Goias Valho a.k.a. Cidade de Goias. It was the capital of Goias state until the creation in the 1930s of Goiania, a much larger city where I have to change buses. At the Goias Velho rodoviaria I ask about onward travel and when I am unable to understand the man's response, he taps it out at about 20 words per minute in Google translate on his phone. Welcome to 2018!

    The town is similar in size to Pirenopolis but even better preserved, and now that the weekend is over, very quiet. There is a wonderful open square with a neo-baroque fountain (no water) and some women doing exercises in time to music. Guess what, it's Pink Floydge!

    The temperature hits 30C for the first time and I am grateful for the swimming hotel in the guest house. I dine alone at the Restaurant Ipe (named after the tree with bright yellow flowers that grows all over this savannah-type landscape. The excellent meal is beef parmigiana, doused in mozzarella and tomato, and would probably keep me full until at least lunch tomorrow, were it not for the excellent breakfast to be provided at the geuest house.
    Read more