Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    New Year, new colours

    January 1 in England ⋅ ☁️ 9 °C

    It's 2024 and while many people were enjoying the fireworks by the river last night, I choose a morning start to enjoy London's New Year parade. After 2 years hiatus it's becoming a regular fixture again and well worth braving the January weather, This time I watch most of it from Piccadilly, at a spot before the main parade begins. Hence I can beat the crowds and get a better view of the performers as they get ready to make their way towards Parliament Square.

    It's so nice to see ordinary people getting a release from their office suits or overalls to become special for a day. With London's diverse population, there's a huge choice of ethnic costumes. I particularly like the Bolivian team bringing a rare colour to the sober tube station.

    If this is the only carnival I see this year (and I hope it isn't!), 2024 has got off to a colourful start.
    Read more