Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    A long day to Genoa

    April 11, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    Today was a BigTravelDay™, joining up 5 trains: what could possibly go wrong🤞

    Well, delays through Monte Carlo saw us miss the Italian connection at Ventimiglia. Every cloud has a silver lining, and with a bar across from the station, a cheeky beer was drunk instead….on the bright side, the next train was direct, making things mildly easier.

    Genoa was but a bed for the night, although the reception lady recommended a fine small restaurant round the corner - Trattoria O Becco Fin.

    Simple yet delicious Italian fare, & the young waiter got all excited when I noticed his decorated crash helmet and rushed outside with us.

    I assumed he would proudly show me his amazing Ducati, or Moto Guzzi.
    Instead, he reached into the top box of his little scooter to give me a Genoa football team sticker. I am now a local 😇
    Read more