Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 106

    Two more days, three sleeps...

    September 15, 2017 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    So just two days until pre-camino preparation ends and Europe here I come. I had great intentions to finalise my packing earlier this week noting that little additions kept creeping into my backpack!! I realised I needed to shed another kilo. Decisions about carrying a smarter outfit for Paris, extra socks etc. In the end with a minor tweak or two and my weight goal was achieved. an extra bonus was that now the pack fits into the drysac that will become it's waterproof liner once the international flight is over. I've decided to checkin my pack, taking the risk on lost luggage. I'm wearing my hiking shoes so anything else is replaceable. I just hope I'm not tested on that.

    So final list...a point of obsession with potential pilgrims that I vowed not to develop.....fail!

    Note: clean alternative hiking clothes donned after day's walk and showering is both dinnerwear and Pjs

    Wearing for travel
    - lightweight, quick-drying trousers
    - merino T-shirt
    - merino link zip jacket
    - merino buff
    Compression hose ...24 hours flight time
    Underwear
    Large light scarf....use as sarong, sheet, privacy screen....dress up0

    Light weight shoulder bag that will function as front pack with essentials at hand and look presentable in the cities

    Packed:
    -Convertible hiking trousers
    -Merino T-shirt
    -Long sleeved ultra light icebreaker top
    -ultra light down vest

    Two merino knickers
    Two pairs merino sox
    Two sock liners
    Nylon kneehiis
    Spare bra
    Light weight buff

    One pair merino long leggings

    Rain/windproof jacket
    ALTUS poncho
    Wool fingerless gloves

    Crocs: for shower and non-walk relief
    Peak hat

    Sleeping bag

    Money belt

    8 kilt pins....clothes pegs and to pin wet clothes to backpack
    Mini shampoo/conditioner
    Small soap
    Piece block deodorant
    Sunblock

    Tinted face block
    Lip balm
    Comb

    Mini first aid... blister prevention
    Foot balm

    Camino guide
    Smartphone, charger, powerboost
    Transition lens glasses
    Doglette mascot
    Items to carry to Cruz de Ferro

    Waterproof bag and hook for shower

    To buy in France:
    two walking poles
    Sim card
    Small knife

    Euros
    Money card
    Passport
    Pilgrim passport

    Great to have that sorted finally!!

    There's just the farewell dinner tomorrow night with family....then what? No more training ...goodbye to the comforts of home for two months. ... mi perra poco...Mi pequeño perro pobre..😢

    "What has been done has been done, what has not been done, has not been done."
    Read more