Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Kyoto Day 1

    October 1, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    After a slight delay caused by me missing the Shinkansen I arrived in Kyoto. The difference between this city and Tokyo is like night and day. The endless skyscrapers replaced with views of mountains in all directions, and noticeably less busy.

    I spent the afternoon exploring the Imperial Palace grounds, a vast garden filled with shrines and foliage. It would have been a place of great tranquility, if not for the noise from the birds, which from Googling I believe to be the Brown-eared Bulbul. Which has a call similar to a squealing pig.

    In the evening I headed into the market and had my first conveyor sushi! The best by far was Snow Crab, which of course meant it was the most expensive dish on the menu!
    Read more