Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Kamikõchi

    October 6, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    After a traditional Japanese breakfast of fried chicken and cake I caught a bus from Matsumoto deeper into the Japanese Alps.

    Kamikochi is a valley between some of the largest mountains and volcanoes in Japan. As the bus snaked its way through the hills I caught glimpses of snow monkeys, as well as many natural hot springs.

    The valley floor itself is 1500 meters above sea level, making it significantly colder than the previous destinations - while Tokyo was often above 30 degrees, it was around 7 degrees here. Shortly after arriving there was a light drizzle, making it feel like authentic British hiking weather.

    The trail was mostly flat and easy going, it was only after I'd set off I realized I was missing the one piece of hiking equipment all of the Japanese hikers had - a bell to scare away bears! (Un)fortunately I didn't spot any on my travels though.

    The entire area was ridiculously beautiful, with a river of perfectly clear blue water running through dense forests surrounded by huge mountains. As the day progressed there were breaks in the clouds allowing for some stunning views of the mountain peaks.
    Read more