Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Day 7 - Monestario - 20 Km

    September 27, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    We walked out of Andelusia and crossed into Extremadora this morning. There was a great castle from the middle ages right on the border. Beautiful.
    And today started with another surprise. My camel back leaked most of its water through my pack and down my back. I saved some and hoped I had enough for the day. The bonus was that my pack was suddenly much lighter and the walking easier. Anyway I eventually forgot about water and thirst - took little frequent sips, ate my mandarin and had a heathy morning tea of canned octopus in oil and bread.
    Imagine my surprise when my companions said there should be (a previously undisclosed) cafe at the 10 km mark. I got my cafe con leche which I missed this morning- and a water top up. Phew.
    Monesterio is the Jamon capital of Spain. There is even a Jamon Museum. Jamon is like prosciutto but is from the back leg of the pig. The Jamon from this part of Spain is particularly flavoursome because the pigs are free range and eat the acorns from the cork oaks. It is very expensive- hence €6 for a Jamon bocadillo. The Jamon negro is the most sought after at €16+ per kilo when buying the whole leg.
    So I saw many happy piggies in the fields as I walked today though they are eventually destined for consumption. Poor piggies.
    Our little group scored a great hostel for tonight - single room for €12.
    We finished the day with a taxi ride to the Monestario de Tentudia - again built in the Middle Ages during the war between the Catholic monarchs of northern Spain and the ‘Muslim troops’. 😢
    It’s on the highest hill/mountain in the area. Apparently on a clear day you can see Seville.
    Just waiting to go out to have some dinner.
    Buen Camino
    Read more