Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Day 39 - Calzadilla de Terra - 12 km

    October 29, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 16 °C

    Weather: 12 - 18 degrees. Cloudy with rain forecast later in the morning and afternoon
    Clothes: short sleeve merino shirt, light wind fleece, rain jacket, trekking pants.

    The scenery
    Todays walk was through small poplar plantations with beautiful autumn leaves, and past rich farm land - mainly flat and beside a slow river. The smell of the fallen leaves in the light rain was particularly special- reminding me of the Cotter River near Canberra. The rain so far has been very light and with the warm temperatures it is not a problem. The cold downpours of my nightmares haven’t eventuated.

    Today’s adventure.
    Because of my still healing knee I decided to just walk the 5 km along the road to the next town with a hotel. However I didn’t know that this town has archeological significance and I forgot it’s Saturday. So of course the hotel was ‘completo’ - full.
    Thinking I was only walking a short distance meant I went slowly and took a 5 minute break every 20 minutes - protecting my knee. So even though I couldn’t stay the night it was a great stop I would have otherwise bypassed. I had an excellent coffee and yummy pastry. Bueno.
    The next town was only another 5 km on so I continued slowly, enjoying every moment of the day. It made me realise that walking more slowly through the day benefits both body and mind.

    I am the only one in the albergue tonight. Often the albergues are locked or have a resident hospitalaro - but this one was open, with a box for donations and a self check in system. It’s on the first floor of a medical centre- but being Saturday the services downstairs are closed. There was a lovely welcoming feeling to just arrive and open the door.
    There is a small supermarket in town and a rather up-market Bar Blanco in the town across the river.
    I had chickpea soup, pork steaks and salad and flán for dessert (with the customary bottle of wine - I don’t drink it all) . Pork is pretty much a staple in Spain so always on the menu - but I think I am looking forward to a change.
    All the ‘boys’ have just arrived at the Bar and the cards are out. It’s a serious thing with a green felt cover on the table on which to play the cards. They must have finished lunch - I wonder what the women do.
    I’ll hang around here for a while and use the free wifi and then wander back to my albergue.
    I have enough food for a light snack tonight and breakfast tomorrow.
    I heard my next stop has an outstanding restaurant - it’s all about the food. 😂

    Buen Camino
    Read more