Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 5

    Day 41 - Mombuey - 15.1 km

    31 oktober 2022, Spanje ⋅ 🌧 12 °C

    Weather: 6 - 14 degrees. Rain forecast all day.
    Clothes: long sleeve merino , light wind fleece, rain jacket, trekking pants, rain poncho
    Body: The knee is better every day. I am happy that I stopped early yesterday. Today it’s been fine on the flat and up hill, but down hill I need to take it slowly.
    I tried out my rain poncho for the first time today. It’s a bit short but then doesn’t flap around my legs which is good. I zipped the legs off my pants - skin is easier to dry than fabric. I felt snug as a bug in a rug. It hardly rained at all for the first 5 km and then it was light rain with gusty wind for a lot of the next 10 km

    The walk
    An online Camino amigo said today’s walk is beautiful and it has been - initially like walking through a fairy forest. I’m out of the bushfire impacted area and can see what it used to look like. The trees are short and many are covered with interesting moss. And a deer crossed my path - she leaped over the road and I saw her white tail disappear through the trees.
    I wanted to stop after 5 km - at Rionegra - for a longer rest and maybe a coffee but it’s Monday and all the bars are closed. So I was going to sit in the shelter of the albergue porch - when lo and behold- a woman came over to see if I wanted accomodation. I said I was just resting my knee so she unlocked the door and let me in. This is another great albergue in which I had planned to stay before the pixie house caught my eye. Anyway a 30 minute rest on the couch was perfect before I set off for the next 10 km to Mombuey.
    I am so glad I rested. The next 10 km was over interesting flat open land with tussocks and marshy bits. It was a bit rainy with quite a bit of wind once I left the shelter of the trees. It was hard going and the elements made it harder to appreciate the landscape.
    I stopped a number of times just to stand and stare - particularly when the wind died down. It was quite beautiful and reminded me a bit of the high country around Kiandra.
    But I had to be careful the whole time because there was a lot of water on the trail.
    Anyway I sort of stumbled into Mombuey and stopped at the first bar I saw.
    Even though they advertised a pilgrim meal they wouldn’t do one - not sure why. Not having Spanish leaves me guessing a lot of the time. Anyway I had chips with ham, bacon and three cheeses on top. Filled up the empty spots and brought me to my senses. Now that I could think more clearly I found the albergue, found house #9 to knock on the door for a key (the nine looked more like a four) and arrived at another small albergue- great bathroom, fridge and microwave, and heater!!!
    By the way the clocks changed yesterday so sunrise will be a bit earlier from now on.
    As I move into the final month of my trip I need to be a bit more frugal. So I got my dinner at the supermarket- lentil soup I can heat in the microwave- and some fruit and food for the road tomorrow.
    Again it seems I am solo. I don’t think there will be any late comers as it’s almost 6 pm.
    The weather forecast looks good for tomorrow - yeah. 🌞🌞🌞

    Buen Camino.

    PS. Never say never. A Spanish man just arrived at 6.56 pm.
    Meer informatie