Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Day 51 - Ourense - 23.4 km

    November 10, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌙 9 °C

    Weather: 10 - 18 degrees. Some cloud.
    Clothes: short sleeve merino, light wind fleece and rain jacket to start until it warms up. I have been walking in shorts since the rain the other day.

    The morning
    Since my two caffeine free mornings l am a little more anxious about my morning coffee. Last night I asked the rather depressed looking Bar host if they were open in the morning. He said 7.15 am - which sounded like a strange time and I wondered if I understood him correctly. Anyway this morning I made my way to the Bar in hope and fear. 😂. Yes it was open!
    It looks like the host is not well, and just sitting on a stool is a great difficulty for him. I forgave him any grumpiness and sent as much love and as many blessings as I could. May he regain good health and the subsequent happiness that brings.
    While one coffee was good I believe today is a two coffee day and I knew there were plenty of stops between here and Ourense. The body is telling me it needs a rest day so I have booked two nights in Ourense before walking the 22 km to Cea.
    I had my second coffee in the first village I passed. ☕️
    It was so peaceful sitting outside looking at the trees and hills and sky. I could have sat there for a long time.

    The day
    Another day in lovely Galicia - a few paths and tracks and then mainly along a minor road but still beautiful.
    The sky is blue with clouds. The weather pleasantly cool. The road not too busy. Lots of variety - shady lanes - villages - then the hills to one side.
    The day has turned into a bit of a Bar crawl - first stop was for coffee - second stop (still in the morning) Tinto de Verano with a tapas of the best tortilla I have had. The egg still soft but cooked around the yummy potatoes. When I said to the host that it was too early for wine he said a definite No! And remembering all the guys who have a shot of spirit with their morning coffee I thought - When in Spain ….
    And the drink - lots of ice, a little wine and tonic water with a couple of spritzed lemon peels. Perfect. The best.
    I think all discipline has left the building. I can see a completely indulgent day ahead and a day off tomorrow, so no pressure. Double perfect.
    As I was sitting with my vino I saw another pilgrim, head down seemingly scurrying by. I was so happy I have the time and inclination to sit and dream at least for some of the time.
    Third stop in another village for a decaf.
    The walk into Ourense is a long one through the outskirts - at first just countryside with houses, more like an extended village- then an industrial area - then what would have been a small separate village in the past (very cute) but has now been enveloped by Ourense - and then through what is a regular city scape until we get to the old town.
    I stopped at 2 pm for lunch in an ordinary Bar / Restaurant. I needed the break before I did what I thought was the last hour to my hostel. The meal was delicious. The food and beverages today have been the best so far.
    I wasn’t that far away after all and soon came to Hostel Grelo which is great. The owner - named Santiago - speaks English. He did my laundry for the usual price(€5 wash and dry), told me how to get to the hot springs tomorrow, and told me about the Chestnut Fiesta tomorrow with lots happening in the old town and a concert in the evening. I had seen posters for this event along the way - a great day to be in Ourense.
    After settling into the Hostel I went for a walk in the old town. It seems to be quite different in character and energy to anything before.
    It’s great to know I don’t have to get ready to walk tomorrow - just take the day as it comes.

    Buen Camino

    The light in Spain
    The autumn light in the north of Spain is very gentle and lovely. The mornings and evenings seem to always have a pink hue and the days are golden - when it’s not foggy or rainy. All quite extraordinary and a daily delight.
    Read more