Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Monastery Santa Maria la Real de Oseira

    November 13, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    The Santa Maria la Real de Oseira Monastery has a long history. One of the oldest parts of the complex is the Church which is a pilgrimage church. It has a statue of Mary breastfeeding the baby Jesus. While there are other images of the ‘Virgin of the Milk’ this is one of the oldest. The other I have seen was in the convent in Zamora.
    The monks have a history of wine and spirit making as well as essential oils and skin care products. Needless to say some purchases were made but not of the alcoholic type. 🙃
    In the late afternoon we had a tour of the church and monastery - which was all in Spanish. I had a explanatory sheet in English which was enough.
    At 6.30 pm we went to Vespers. It was my first time.
    There was a life size Jesus on the cross at the front of the small chapel. My relationship with that image has changed radically since I went to the exhibition in Zamora. I don’t think I have a name for the feeling I get from that image now - so I won’t try in this short narrative.
    However half way through Vespers the feeling changed to a sense of joy and liberation. As Vespers continued I felt more calm and relaxed.
    One priest said some prayers which were a blessing for pilgrims. 🙏
    There was an item on the alter that looked like a sun on a stand. Towards the end one priest went to a small decorated cupboard at the back and took out a small gold container. Out of that container he took what looked like a white circle and put it in the centre of the ‘sun’ thing. Incense was lit and waved at the ‘sun’. Then the ‘sun’ was made to face everyone in turn. It felt like it was some sort of channel or lens for grace and it certainly gave me a particular and quite powerful sensation. Then there was a short meditation. Of course the monks sat or kneeled perfectly still 😇 while the ‘audience’ rustled and shuffled pretty constantly. 😂
    A very lovely experience that left me indrawn, quiet and relaxed. And with a feeling that all is well.
    A perfect way to end a pretty perfect day.

    Edit: I have since found out that this ceremony is called “Eucharist Adoration” and the ‘sun’ thing is called a monstrance. It really is designed to give one the ‘darshan’ of Christ and that certainly seems to be what happened for me. Wow!

    https://catholicworldmission.org/what-is-a-mons…
    Read more