Satellit
Visa pÄ kartan
  • Dag 35

    Juneau

    1 juni 2023, Förenta staterna ⋅ 🌧 7 °C

    What a freezing cold night đŸ„¶. Definitely the coldest so far and not a lot of sleep was had.

    Around 6.30am, I gave up on sleeping and went to find coffee. I found a free coffee machine in the office and helped myself đŸ€—.

    After breakfast and showers, we caught the bus into Juneau. 4 cruise ships đŸ˜©. The bus company wanted $45 each for return transport to the glacier. I phoned a car rental company instead. The guy came and collected us from the cruise dock and drove us all the way back to Auke Bay, where we had just come from. He then asked me for my license and insurance documents. Oh no! He couldn’t offer us insurance and I knew I couldn’t get any after the Haines debacle. No rental car. Fortunately, the guy dropped us at Mendallhall Glacier.

    We spent some time at the glacier walking around and looking at Nugget Falls. Then the next hurdle. How would we get back with no transport? I saw an orange tourist bus and asked the driver to take us. He said $20 per person, we paid and got a ride back to the cruise ship dock where we started. A round trip for less than half price 😆.

    We found a pub for lunch and had a tasty sandwich before catching the bus to Fred Meyers. We picked us a couple of things for dinner and caught another bus back to the campground.

    We had some coffee (don’t think they realise what they’ve got into) and sat by the ‘campfire’ keeping warm and dry.

    Macaroni cheese and veggies for dinner. I hope tonight is a bit warmer.
    LĂ€s mer