Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 96

    Muay Thai Fight Night

    December 2, 2018 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    We have been taking Muay Thai classes twice a week at a local gym. The coaches are excellent with the kids and with Lara and I. Two of our coaches were scheduled to fight this evening so I headed out to a stadium in rural Thailand with a bunch of the gym regulars to support them. It was great to see these guys in action. There are many rituals that precede each bout including both fighters greeting their opponents corner. Each fight consists of 5 rounds, a round lasts two minutes for women and three minutes for men. There were a few fighters as young as 8yrs old competing before the more seasoned veterans were called up. What struck me the most is how much fun the fighters are having. Each round begins with a high-five and ends with a hug, and they joke with each other between punches and kicks. It is truly a sport and not the grizzly display of bravado I was expecting. The last thing they do after the fight is over is go and drink out of their opponents water cup. Fun night, and I learned enough to know that I won’t be entering a ring anytime soon. I value my bones and what’s left of my brian cells too much.
    - Geoff
    Read more