Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 139

    Hanoi, Vietnam

    January 14, 2019 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Hanoi is really, really loud and busy. It is so difficult to cross the street. There is a lot of garbage and stuff here, but the weather is the perfect temperature. I noticed a lot of coffee shops. I liked riding in the cyclo yesterday even though it was a bit scary being in traffic. Everything looks expensive because the Vientnamese Dong is so devalued (25,000 VND is equal to CAD1.43). I find it sad that people catch turtles and keep them in buckets so people will buy them to throw in the water for “good luck”. My brother and sister and I bought one each to put back in the water just to set them free.
    - Chloë

    There aren’t as many smiles here as in Thailand. I had fun riding around Hanoi in an air conditioned van. - Malcolm

    I like my new stuffie bunnie and my tiny traditional Asian hat. The bendy straws here are really long and bendy. I also like all of the puppies that we met.
    - Dale

    Hanoi is exhilarating! There is so much action going on all day. I like watching the traffic and seeing everyone driving as if there wasn’t any one else on the road. I also like the sidewalk restaurants with their tiny tables and chairs. There are several small lakes right in town that are fun to walk around. We stopped to help some elementary and college students practice their English. Visiting the Ho Chi Minh mausoleum was fascinating. We are only just beginning to appreciate Uncle Ho’s significance to this country.
    - Geoff

    I like all the activities that were going on during a Sunday afternoon. A long line of elderly ladies giving each other a massage, a children’s public dance performance, tiny cars for children to drive, circles of teenagers playing a version of hacky-sack with a feathered bell...
    - Lara
    Read more