Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 193

    Week one in Ahmedabad

    March 9, 2019 in India ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    We are in Ahmedabad right now and I still don’t know if I like it here or not. It the farthest from Ottawa I’ve ever seen, culture-wise, living/city-wise, and distance-wise. There aren’t many people with white skin here, so lots of people come and take selfies with us. There are a lot of homeless people here, more than I’ve ever seen in my life, especially little kids 👧🏾 and babies 👶🏾 . It makes me realize how lucky I am, to have a nice house, good food, clean water, and even to have shoes👟! When we leave Ahmedabad, I am going to make a donation to an organization that helps kids who live on the street, and Dad’s going to match the amount that I donate. We have seen an extremely wide range of wealth here, from people sleeping on the side of the road, to people living in mansions. I think that it’s important for people to visit a place like Ahmedabad, because, I think lots of people who live in North America and Europe, feel like they don’t have enough, but we need to realize how lucky we are because there are people living with literally nothing. Walking around is really hard because there are lots of crazy drivers in cars 🚘 , on scooters 🛵, motorcycles 🏍, and rickshaws (like a Thai tuk-tuk), and we don’t know how to cross streets properly here! My Mom’s friends Mohol and Christina, from when she came to India 22 years ago, live here in a big complex. They have two kids, C (she’s 12, going on 13) and K (he’s 7, going on 8). We’ve gone over to their house for dinner a couple of times. They have a very nice house, and they employ a family. There is some really good food here. My favourites are roti, parathas, aloo naan, and daal. I noticed that there are tons of street dogs, with lots of sores, and scratches, and I feel really bad for them.
    🐕 😢
    I think it’s worth coming here, even just for a few days.
    Chloë
    🇮🇳 🇮🇳 🇮🇳
    Read more