Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Blowhole and Taitomo Island

    December 12, 2019 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    As I needed to wait for low tide to go and explore some part of the beach I had a relaxing lunch and afternoon on the campground, reading a book and doing nothing. When it was finally low tide I went to the beach to discover the so-called blowhole, even though it more likely a tunnel through the stone. As the water hasn’t gone away on the other side the waves were pushing water through the tunnel constantly.

    At the end of the beach was a small “swimming pool” and you can climb up on the rocks to look into a cave and then even climb up onto the Taitomo Rock or Island. It’s an Island by high tide.

    I went up only halfway, it was a really steep and tricky path so I was satisfied with the view from there! The way down was even more tricky than the way up 🙈
    But I made it!

    After that, it was time to go back to the campground as my stomach told me it was more than time to get something to eat 😂
    Read more