Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Maria Island - Fossil Cliffs Walk

    March 7, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌬 15 °C

    After being awake between 2 and 4 am due to the rain, I woke up again shortly before 6 am due to the wind, that has become pretty bad. Got up at 6:30 and packed up some stuff and tried to dry up my tent from the inside. It's not really bad, but there was coming in water.
    I had breakfast and was just happy, that I prepared my bag for Maria Island already yesterday, even the wraps for lunch was already done!
    Looked up an accomodation for to night at the Tasman Peninsula, as it's supposed to rain a lot and still blow.
    Hard to find something, all seems to be booked out. But luckily I found one hotel room and booked it straight away.
    Went to the wharf at 7:50am.
    Was no problem at all to get a ferry ticket. 8:30 am we left Triabunna to go to Maria Island.
    The ride was bumpy. It was really "interesting"
    It took us around 45 minutes to Darlington, Maria Island.
    Leaving the boat i started directly with the Fossil Cliffs walk.
    First part was going basically up hill almost all the time. Did see a Cape Barren Goose straight away.
    And shortly after that some kangaroos chilling out. And then I was kangaroos everywhere. Amazing to see so many of them around. Probably some Wallabies as well, but hard to tell from a distance.
    Unfortunately the walk down to the Fossil Cliffs is closed due to a landslide.
    I get fighting my way up a steeper hill and even fighting the string wind.
    Und the returning walk to Darlington I decided to continue on the Reservoir Circuit straight away as I am passing it in the way.
    Read more