Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Koala Conservation Reserve

    March 14, 2023 in Australia

    After a good night, okay it was a little bit wet as there is a lot of humidity in the air, but it was my first warmer night! Finally!
    I had breakfast and shortly past 10 am I left the campground to drive the short way to the Koala Conversation Reserve.
    Here I hopefully will see some Koalas. Most of the Koalas here were found in the wild with their dead mother and was hand raised or got injured during the black summer, the bushfires during the summer 2019/2020.
    So they can't be released into the wild again.
    It's a lovely park and I managed to see quite a few Koalas. All of them were sitting high up in the trees. They have some areas where they have built a boardwalk so you can get closer to them, but they where anyway to high up.
    As I was ready to go again I thought, just one last round through the two boardwalks and that was the jackpot as two Koalas were climbing down their trees and were sitting very close to the broadwalk. 🤩
    That was so amazing to see. One had a good scratch. I got so happy and left with a big smile on my face shortly before noon.
    Read more