Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Penguin Parade

    March 14, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    After parking the car I walked up to the center and had a look around there.
    Was then deciding that I can go already to my viewing platform, I have booked a Penguin Plus ticket. Should be the one with the best view. Hope and see.
    It was a short walk down to the beach. Got checked twice so everyone is ending up where he/she is supposed to.
    I arrived at the platform at 7:15pm, 1 hour before the sunset and estimated arrival time of the penguins. Lucky me. I got a perfect spot to sit. From here I can see the beach and the penguins passing me. I am sitting in the second row, so very close to the penguins.
    And I had nice neighbors. Got to talk to an older couple from south of Sydney and so the time we had to wait was passing by very fast.
    Shortly before 8pm one of the rangers had a short talk, we are not allowed to take pictures as the penguins have very sensitive eyes and people always happen to use the flashlight in a mistake. To bad, but good for the penguins. I managed anyway to take some pictures with the night mode. 🙊
    The Little Blue Penguins are just about 35-40cm tall. So very small.
    At 8:07pm we saw some penguins on the hill coming out of their nest and just a few minutes later, probably just 2 minutes later there was suddenly hundreds of penguins coming out of the water and running up the beach.
    I can't describe what I have seen tonight. It was amazing and there are no words for this.
    You have to go there and see it by yourself!
    Just so amazing. 50 minutes after the first penguins come on shore they where closing the viewing platform and everyone had to go back to the center and their cars. I got back to the campground at 9:30pm and it took me a while to fall asleep.
    Read more