Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Churchill Island

    March 15, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    I woke up around 8:15 am this morning. It was a really warm and lovely night!
    Unfortunately it very cloudy today and it's, at least here on Phillip Island, not supposed to get better anytime soon.
    So I decided I am leaving today and had first of all a shower, because that I forgot yesterday after all the penguins I saw!
    After the shower I had breakfast and was leaving the campground at 10 am.
    On the way back to the mainland I decided I can also drive to Churchill Island first and take a walk over the Island. Nice and easy walk. Churchill Island is home to many seabirds some month during the year and a very important for them.
    The walk took me around 30 minutes and after that I left the islands for this time, but I will come back to this beautiful paradise!
    From here I went to Frankston to look for a new underwater camera, and I found one! What a relief!
    From Frankston I went straight to Sorrento to take the ferry over to Queenscliff and this time I was lucky and could drive into the ferry straight away and we were leaving Sorrento shortly past 2 pm.
    The ride took 40 minutes and was going smooth.
    I almost crashed the left mirror by driving off the ferry, as some people are always to late back to their cars and I was on the left from 3 lanes and had to pass the huge SUV/truck style car and almost forgot that there is not much space on the left side of my car 😬😅
    Luckily I was noticing it just in time and nothing happened. Puh.
    Read more