Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Spring Creek Horse Rides

    March 16, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌬 24 °C

    I arrived at the Spring Creek Horse Ride Farm at 12:45pm. I said hello to the girls, got a helmet and was matched with Piet, my companion for the next two hours. Looking forward to a nice ride through the Otway National Park, or better I say it like this: through a small part of the Otway National Park. It's a huge park.
    We had to wait for two more people to show up as they was late. Too bad, as everyone else was arriving almost at the same time.
    As everyone was ready and up on their horse we were ready to go. Got to ride in the second position.
    Piet was lovely. He knew when to relax and walk easy but could wait to go for a trot when it was time for it.
    It was a nice ride through the bush. As all looked burned I asked, when the last fire was going in here. It was like 5 years ago a controlled burn. They do this here regularly to take away all the dead parts on the ground and the grass and smaller bushes to take away the fuel for a real bushfire.
    It's a really important part of this country to protect the land and animals from the server fires like in 2019/2020.
    After over 2 hours we were back at the farm. Piet got a good scratch from me and then it was time to say goodbye already again.
    Some smaller stopps still up on my list.
    Read more