Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Kenneth River

    March 17, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    For this stop I have been looking forward to some days already, as many people told me to go here to see Koalas! Kenneth River.
    Well what shall I say, they closed the walks because of a controlled burn in the forest behind Kenneth River. Oh man... At least I saw some Rosellas and one Koala enjoying a meal high up in a tree.
    This controlled burns are very important and hard to do. They have just a very short period of time to do them, when it's not to hot, dry or to wet. So the fire was started on Tuesday and as it's going to be a bad day tomorrow, hot, dry and super windy they were trying to get the fire as low and small as possible to have a better control over it tomorrow.
    Good I asked, because they told me, the wind will be horrible tomorrow and I should not go in the forest after midday. And I have planned to spend the hot day in the forest 😬
    I will go to the visitor information center in Apollo Bay and check with them later.
    Read more