Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Mount Abrupt Walk

    March 21, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    As the lady in the I-Side highly recommend this walk, I had to do it.
    Its just a short drive from the I-Side to the carpark.
    I started the walk at 2:18pm.
    Motivated, don't know where this came from now.
    The first bit was good. Uphill but in a nice way, no steps or so. So I made my way up pretty good, but after a while it got steeper and more and with more steps. After a while I wonder what the hell I am doing here. Gaining hight with every step, had to stop more often.
    After 35 min I reached a sign, marking out, I made it half way up! I did a 10 minutes break here, to eat a wrap and rest a little bit.
    Then I kept going. In the second part of the track were some flat parts, even shorter downhill sections as I had to climb up 3 hills so to say.
    I made it up to the top after 1 hour and 20 minutes! Pretty good I think! I am happy with it.
    It's blowing pretty cold up here so I couldn't stay so long to enjoy the view even though I was putting on a pullover straight away when I reached the top.
    Took some pictures, enjoyed the 360degrees view and after 5 minutes I started the walk down the hill again.
    Took me 1hour to get back to the carpark. So I made the whole track in 2:20h. 💪
    3,3km one way, almost 500m elevation change per way.
    From here I went straight to the campground in Halls Gap enjoying a hot shower, and just relaxed and enjoyed the sun that is finally out and it good nice and warm.
    Read more