Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Marrakech in 2 Days

    February 15, 2020 in Morocco ⋅ 🌙 14 °C

    Just lost my note..have to repeat!! Ugģh

    9am start to Medina ..Bahia Palace beautiful carved cedar and tile work. Head of French protectorate lived here had fireplaces instaĺled.
    Sultan (before the French) had room for 4 wives 24 concubines and children! HUGE
    Walk through medina visit synagogue museum..only 100? Jewish people left in Marrakech.
    Lunch chicken Pastilla and fresh navels for dessert.
    Onto YSL museum..quite large display of dresses most intense colors, next door Majorelle garden..with coffee shop -lemon ice with spiced coffee! ,next next door Berber museum with exceptional (+beautiful) display of women's jewellery.
    Find shop "my cawa" selling spiced coffee 7 envelopes for 50mad. Individually things seem low price but somehow we are always searching for a bank. I have had lots of trouble with my bank card..never in the past but this time even my favourite Attijarawafa won't give me $$..i call Scotia bank..no help they say try another ATM I've tried..5!!
    Evening we set out with guide for jama El Fnaa - Calgary stampede midway on steroids! Taste of fresh o.j. ..glass about 8oz ..4mad and benina!
    Tired/sleep.
    Valentines day in Marrakech ..quiet day, breakfast, read by pool ( beautiful but not heated) then into Gueliz (new town) visit Place vendome where I buy the same leather wallet I bought about 10ys ago 480 mad big reduction to 440 - I take it. Visit Jeff De Bruges who is doing a "western" trade in chocolate Valentine's!
    Coffee..Deb likes coffee mareesa which we've been told is cafe casse but she keeps getting my nauss/nauss which is my coffee more like latte now we're told order mareesa forte??
    Easy day home for dinner.

    Saturday 10am off to Casablanca..private car Skoda/Renault..v comfortable good divided highway speed 120kph..arrive about 1pm.
    Same hotel Odyssee centre in center Ville.. Harrira at leFleur..CTM for tickets..get Casa to Oulidia but cannot get Oulidia to El jadida Will wait and see the info we get in Oulidia??? Isn't travel fun!
    Read more